Burritos!

I made my hubby’s lunch last night and noticed we were out of lunch meat. So, today I made freezer burritos! Freezer burritos are one of Hubby’s favorite foods. He loves to go into the freezer and just grab a couple to heat up and go. He likes them in his lunches and he likes them as a snack. Unfortunately, store bought freezer burritos are too expensive and too high in icky stuff for me to be okay with him eating them. So, I make my own. Cheaper, healthier, and they taste better. (Because, you know, they were made with love.)

20150109_082319

This morning I gathered my ingredients: Large tortillas (Set them out before hand so they will be room temperature and easier to fold.), cheese, refried beans, ground beef, and a can of Rotell. You don’t have to use these exact ingredients, it was just what I had on hand.

20150109_082823

Throw  the beans, Rotell, and ground beef in a pan. That picture contains three large cans of beans, about a pound and a half of ground beef, one can of Rotell, and a teaspoon of minced garlic I threw in because I don’t mind garlic breath. You can also go ahead and add the cheese at this point if you want. I didn’t. Heat it all up over low heat until it simmers, stirring occasionally. Or if you are like me, turn the stove on, decide to sweep, change your kid’s diaper, finish sweeping, find out your child tried to help you with laundry by strewing clean diapers all over the (thankfully just swept) floor, text a friend, hear a loud pop, and realize that you had forgotten the beans and they had splattered all over the stove.

*sigh* Alternatively, you can use the time they are heating up to shred your cheese (if you didn’t add it in already), lay out foil pieces, and open the tortillas. Not as much fun that way though.

If you want to go the extra step and avoid soggy burritos, let the bean mixture cool to room temperature. I didn’t because I knew that I would forget and find a crusty mess on my stove sometime that night.

Scoop some beans onto a shell, sprinkle some shredded cheese on top, fold, and wrap in foil. Repeat until either all of the tortillas or all of the bean mix has been used up. Then you can just stick ’em in the freezer for later!

Or… If you are like me, you go to put them in the freezer, realize there isn’t any room, and spend the next couple of minutes cleaning a shelf off. I did discover I have a ton of frozen bananas though!

One last thing before I sign off, people have been asking me how I manage to get things done with a little one running around. Do I put him in a box or something? The answer is yes. Yes, I do put him in a box. He loves it.

Ethan Year Two

4 thoughts on “Burritos!

  1. Melody Anne Andrews

    The burritos sound great, Steve will love them. As for the baby in a box – Christopher, my youngest, spent his first two years in a box. It was his favorite place to entertain himself, eat lunch, play especially if Mommy was busy!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Carol Clark

    I am going to try this! I never thought of making my own, and when I saw you post about it before, I thought it was way harder. With all the mouths I have to feed, this is a great idea!! Love you…..

    Like

    Reply

Say Hi!

