Three Ingredient Pumpkin Cake

Just about everybody has either heard of or tried “Two Ingredient Pumpkin Cake”. I recently made the super easy dessert and wrapped it up as snack cakes for Hubby’s lunch. It was obviously a hit because they disappeared at an alarming rate. Now, I don’t eat gluten so I just had to watch while he ate steaming slices of cake smothered in homemade glaze. I must have been drooling noticeably because Hubby asked me why I couldn’t do the same with a gluten free cake mix.

I immediately launched into a rather lengthy dissertation on the differences of gluten and gluten free cooking, moisture contents, etc. (I think I have a martyr complex or something because I instinctively reject ideas that could make things better for me.) He rolled his eyes and I thought that was the last of it… Until we went grocery shopping the next day and I noticed that a gluten free yellow cake mix had made it’s way into the cart.

We spent the money on the thing, so I had to use it now. And boy am I glad I did!

20150113_135325

I started off just like the “normal” recipe with just a cake mix and a 15 ounce can of pureed pumpkin. It seemed a bit dry so I added three eggs. I baked it according to the box directions and twenty eight minutes later removed this beauty from the oven.

20150113_144103

Perfect. Delicious. I love my husband. As a note though, it has a texture more like a sweet bread than a cake.

Anywho, directions:

Three Ingredient Pumpkin Cake

1 Gluten Free yellow cake mix
1 15oz can Pureed pumpkin
3 eggs

Mix it all together and dump into a greased 9″by13″ pan. Bake at 350 degrees for 20-30 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean.

Glaze (optional)

1 1/2 cup powdered sugar
2-3 TBS milk

Sift the powdered sugar into a bowl, you don’t want any lumps. Add two tablespoons milk and stir. If it seems a little thick, add more milk a teaspoon at a time. Pour over dessert of choice.

One thought on “Three Ingredient Pumpkin Cake

Say Hi!

