A Week of Calzones

I make homemade lunches for Hubby. It’s healthier for him and cheaper as well. When I add it all up, I’m saving us roughly fifty to sixty dollars a week doing this. Not too shabby for an excuse to cook! Normally I make him sandwiches, where I save a few extra cents by slicing my own cheese instead of buying the pre-sliced stuff, but sandwiches aren’t exactly the pinnacle of health food. Plus, I don’t like serving the same exact things over and over again.

Last time we were at the store, he saw a packaged calzone and immediately threw it in the cart. This gave me the idea to make my own!

So I found this recipe for calzone crust and got to work. Instead of 2 1/2 cups of all-purpose flour, I used 1 1/2 cups whole wheat flour and 1 cup all purpose to sneak a little extra nutrition into Hubby without sacrificing too much texture or taste.

20150119_104127

Isn’t that beautiful?

Next, I chopped up one green bell pepper, a stalk of celery, one onion, eight really fat cloves of garlic, two collard leaves, and the sausage and sauteed it all with Italian seasoning, a pinch of red pepper, and some salt and pepper.

20150119_102027

Look at all those veggies! Much healthier than a sandwich in my opinion.

I rolled the dough out, smeared some spaghetti sauce on, threw a handful of cheese in, and stuffed the veggy and sausage mix in. Oh, and I sprinkled some chopped pepperoni in there as well. I folded them the best I could and baked them according to directions. They smelled heavenly so I made another batch so Hubby would have enough for a week.

Then it was a matter of wrapping them in foil and sticking them in the freezer for later! Another thing I can make on the regular so he will have a bit more variety.

Oh, I also made these delectable beauties as well.

20150119_134520

20150119_134557

The top one is a from scratch chocolate cake for my mother-in-law’s birthday. I made a from scratch chocolate frosting as well (that she loved), but forgot to take a picture before packing it up to bring to her.

The bottom one is a grain free brownie that I made so Mr. Bubbles and I wouldn’t be left out. I used local cane syrup as the sweetener.

One thought on “A Week of Calzones

  1. Pingback: I Am Tired | Hugs From a Porcupine

Say Hi!

