I Don’t Remember It Being Like That…

I have a tendency to cycle between crippling self doubt and overconfidence. One minute I will be so terrified of messing up a forty second phone call that I put it off until the last possible minute, and the next I think I can make a dish from a several year old memory of watching someone else cook.

Yeah…

I don’t actually remember how to make a quiche. However, I do know how to make a pretty awesome hash-brown casserole!

(I forgot to take a pic until after my dad and Mr. Bubbles had demolished half of the pan.)

I just grated several fresh potatoes into the casserole dish until it was full, spread some chopped onions and garlic on top along with salt and pepper, and poured beaten eggs into the pan until the potatoes were thoroughly soaked. I cooked it at 400 until the eggs were set (about 45-50 minutes), then I spread some minced chives and parsley over top, and then I covered with shredded cheese. Then I stuck it back into the oven until the cheese was melted and bubbly.

If you have the patience you can wait until the cheese browns a little bit. If you don’t have the patience you can pull it out the second the cheese bubbles and serve. Either way, it will probably disappear quickly.

Next time I make this I will probably add some chopped veggies into the potatoes, such as peppers, celery, and maybe a green of some sort. This time I was just pulling what I had in the fridge into a meal because grocery shopping is still two days away and I’m out of the ingredients I usually have on hand for what I normally think to make.

Tomorrow we will be having either bean burritos or bean nachos or something with beans because that is all I have on hand.

By the way! If you can only go shopping once a week I highly recommend making a menu ahead of time so you can be sure to have enough food for the week. Otherwise you end up trying to figure out what sort of meal you can make out of a can of chicken and if you can feed three to four people with it.

We do have enough food. Just not convenient food. I don’t like getting out of my comfort zone.

Grilled chicken with veggies and rice is comfortable.

Random concoctions made with beans are not.

One thought on “I Don’t Remember It Being Like That…

  1. Lydia W.

    It sounds delicous, and definitely a recipe you could add to as you had ingredients, however I must admit when I first saw the picture, I thought “oh my, what did she manage to do this time?!” As the picture on my phone looks like green refried beans covered in cheese. =P lol.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Say Hi!

