Sausage and Cheese Biscuits

Hubby works a grueling job and he is constantly tired. He likes (and in my opinion, deserves) to be able to just grab something out of the freezer or fridge, nuke it in the microwave, and eat whenever he is hungry.

Pre-made meals from the store are expensive and not at all healthy so I try to save us some money, time, and his heart by making homemade freezer meals.

Today I made sausage and cheese biscuits. I just squished some turkey sausage into patties and baked them at the same time as a couple of cans of biscuits. Canned biscuits probably aren’t the cheapest or healthiest option, but it is still better than a Hot Pocket and was all I felt up to while twenty-nine weeks pregnant. When the biscuits were done, I opened them up and stuck a slice of sharp cheddar cheese inside and a sausage patty. Then I closed them up and set them on a rack to cool before wrapping them in foil and sticking them in the freezer.

I ended up with more sausage patties than canned biscuits so I did end up making biscuits for the last batch. First time making biscuits too, but a friend tried them and said they turned out okay.

Now whenever Hubby feels like a snack he can just grab one and stick it in the microwave for a few seconds. He ended up taking one to work for lunch today because I got so caught up cooking for the future that I forgot to make his lunch in time.

But convenience food is, well, convenient so he just grabbed a sausage and cheese biscuit and I wrapped up a sizable hunk of the banana bread I make sure is always in the fridge and he had a lunch ready to go.

Say Hi!

